Improving Our Community
Improving Our Community


Flower, Fruit and Veg Show 2018


Vegetable Gold Awards


Eifion Williams - Chillis

Clive Dolan - Potatoes

Andrew Nightingale - Marrow


Vegetable Best in Show


Margaret Booth - Display of Four Vegetables


Fruit Gold Awards


Clive Dolan - Pears

Eifion Williams - Plums

Clive Dolan - Apples


Fruit Best in show


Clive Dolan - Damsons


Flowers Gold Awards


Ste and Pat Stamer - Mixed Dahlias

M and J Edgar - Three Identical Dahlias

Christopher Nightingale - Three Identical Dahlias

Christopher Nightingale - Sweet Peas


Flowers Best in Show


Christine Dolan - Sunflowers


Longest Bean - Fiona Taylor

Giant Vegetable (Cucumber) - Barbara Roberts


Overall Best in Show


Margaret Booth - Display of Four Vegetables



Best in Show : Joyce McGullian

Prize winnng apples


Flower, Fruit and Veg Show 2017


Vegetable Gold Awards


Clive Dolan (Carrots and Tomatoes)

Suzanne Phena (Aubergines)

Andrew Nightingale (Cucumber)

Jenny Davis (Beans)

Alison Cathcart (Courgettes)

Eifion Williams (Courgettes)

Joyce McGullian (Leeks and Onions)


Vegetable Best in Show

Joyce McGullian (Onions)


Fruit Gold Awards


Eifion Williams (Apples)

Andrew Nightingale (Redcurrants)


Fruit Best in show

Eifion Williams (Apples)


Flowers Gold Awards


Gary and Julie Stanley (Sweet Peas and Sunflowers)

Eifion Williams (Dahlias)

Chris Nightingale (Rudbeckias, Mixed Arrangement, and Dahlias)


Flowers Best in Show

Chris Nightingale (Dahlias)


Longest Bean - Mary Jackson (16 inches!)


Overall Best in Show

Joyce McGullian (Onions)


Front Garden Competition 2013

This year our awards focussed on colourful floral displays , whether in beds and borders, or in containers and baskets. We also celebrated out fifth anniversary.

Pictured above, first prize winner David Hilton cuts the birthday cake with Cllr David Chadwick, who presented the awards, watched by other members of the committee.

Judging took place in late July. The winners were :

First Prize : 28 Southover

Second Prizes : 18 Rayden Crescent, 12 Bentworth Close, 19 Chapelstead

Certificates of Merit :

10 Hawkridge Close, 89 Hindley Road, 8 Rectory Gardens, 18 West Grove, 9 West Grove, 10 Rayden Crescent, 86 Rayden Crescent, 2 Lower Leigh Road, 10 Gilliburns Walk and 6 Clive Road.

Front Garden Competition - 2012

Pictured below - the prize winners with the Mayor of Westhoughton Ryan Battersby. (left to right) Claire Taylor, Celia Crook, The Mayor, Kate Booth and Heather McCann.

Full Results

First prize (Single Basket) - 145 Old Vicarage

First Prize (Display) - 39 The Cloisters

Second Prize (Single Basket) - 38 St James Street

Second Prize (Display) - 19 Bentworth Close

Certificates of Merit : 14 St James Street, 15 Old Sirs, 11, The Cloisters, 42 St James Street, 7 Hartford Green, 6, The Rock, 24 Marsham Road, 34 St James Street, 124 Old Vicarage.

Raffle prize winner - Frances Andrews pictured below with the Chair and Vice Chair of the Committee.

2011 - The Winners.

First Prize : Mick Delaney, The Pewfist

Joint second prize : Marian Herring, Daisy Hall Drive, and Margaret and David Booth, Hindley Road.

Certificates of Merit were awarded to seven other local gardens.

If any of the award winners would like a copy of their photo please email

2010 :

Pictured above are the winners of the 2010 front garden competition.
They are :
First Prize : Tracy Watkins
Joint second prize : Graham Corner (represented in the photo by neighbour Janice Hindley as he was away) and Hilary Walton-Chard
Third prize : Tony Bridgewood

Previous Year's Winners

At the presentation ceremony on 6 October 2008, Daisy Hill recieved an improvement award - a great achievement for our first year.

At our own celebration evening, awards were made as follows :

The garden winners were:

1st Alan and Marian Taylor of 49 St James Street.
2nd Derek and Sheila Southern of 36 St James Street.

Highly commended were

36, 48 and 89 Hindley Road
32, 34, 6 and 8 St James Street
430, 470 and 510 Leigh Road.

Certificates were also awarded to St George's School and Church and the men from Bolton Council, Rob Henderson and Jarvis Lynch.
Trophies were awarded to St George's Cubs and Beavers, Eatock School and Hollins Park Nursery